125 Years in Carlisle
Tullie House was officially opened as a museum, public library and school of art in 1893. The buildings housed the collections of the city and shared the stories they told in a brand new museum and art gallery. The buildings also incorporated Science and Technology lessons.
During the next century the Schools of Art, Science and Technology, and finally the library, would all move to new premises in the city, but the museum and art gallery remained and expanded. Since 2011 the museum has been an independent charitable trust and continues to operate as a nationally important museum and centre for learning, inspiring hundreds of thousands of visitors every year.
Discover more about our history here