Dave Ramshaw - Carlisle’s First Learning Centre – Tullie House - June Lunchtime Talk
Tullie House Museum and Art Gallery was opened by the Carlisle Corporation in 1893, the original building is a converted Jacobean mansion, with extensions added when it was converted. At first, with no university in Carlisle, the building filled the gap providing a range of facilities including the museum, a library, an art school and a technical school. The talk will explore the development of Tullie House as a ‘learning centre’ over time.
For many years David was the Head of Physics at Trinity School. Now retired, he runs P3 Publications which specialises in producing local books about Cumbria. He is a keen walker and cyclist and also a member of the Border Astronomical Society (managing Trinity Observatory), Director of the Carlisle Waverley Viaduct Trust and a primary school governor.